shorts + tights = lovee

layering made easy! shorts + tights

first step. Invest in some good nylons.. for spring and summer I like more sheer ones, even though I hate those a*holes le chateaus tights are super awesome. “40 deniers” are the best ones for sheer tights that don’t  rip. I hate it when tights rip!  I think american apparel has good tights too, both are a little pricey but its better than constantly replacing cheap pairs.. and yes, they are nylons, not leggings.

Having the foot covered makes your legs look super long, especially if you wear black or dark heels, for the same reason that wearing nude heels and bare legs makes you look taller; visually one straight color line is slimming and elongating.. two things I think most people want for their legs!  If its chilly out, and you want to wear leggings, that’s okay as well, just wear boots so that you don’t see bare feet. Wearing shorts with tights has already broken your leg into 2 “color blocks” so be matchy-matchy with the shoes to avoid a 3rd block.. that’s when you start looking stumpy!

step two. make sure you have a pair of shorts that fit well! When looking for high-waist or mid-rise shorts I buy them looser (usually a size up from my usual size) because I have a big booty and a small waist sizing up helps to avoid pulling. Then however, the waistband often gaps quite a bit if I don’t belt it..  fortunately, I am obsessed with belts.  I have found that almost everything is a bit loose in the waist when I shop to fit the rest of my body (aka the butt), – fit issues are so often fixed with a well placed belt! 

With low-rise to medium-rise shorts, I usually layer a tank underneath a loose-fitting top , the tank helps smooth any lines that the tights might be making around your waist, you could also use a body slimmer. I favor wearing  loose, often asymmetrical tops over low-rise shorts.

On left: mid-rise Jessica Simpson faux-leather shorts from Winners- for a fall look. Lots of layers to keep warm, without adding bulk. You can still wear a belt with shorts when the top isn’t baggy just wear it on the smallest part of your natural waist, not in the belt loops! I’m wearing a tank underneath- tucked into the shorts, over the tights (wearing 2 pairs, black underneath, grey knit over top) and then the button up with an open cardigan over top. TIP: When wearing something that adds bulk to the chest, its good to define the waist with a belt so that the detailing doesn’t overwhelm your figure.


On right: low rise sequin shorts from F21- for a spring look.  It was super hot out, so I am wearing a bandeau underneath, and very sheer tights, and the top is somewhat sheer as well. TIP: when you are leaving your top un-tucked, especially if it is baggy, do NOT wear a belt on the shorts, it will just add extra bulk! & when wearing sheer pieces, keep it monochromatic and neutral to avoid looking trashy.

High waist:

Pulling off high-waisted shorts is tricky, and its almost entirely in the fit of the shorts. When I shop for them, I always go bigger rather than smaller, because with the high waist, comes dangerous camel toe territory and you need all the extra material you can get! Like I said, fit issues are so often fixed by belt, try for a pair with loops, or else make sure they fit well. (Not everyone has an awkward body to dress like mine, and obviously you know your own fit issues better than anyone else would so keep any hard to fit issues in mind and try to work around them.) When wearing anything high-waisted (shorts or skirts) you want  it to sit at the smallest part of your natural waist this creates an hourglass figure, belting the waist will help to emphasize it even more.

When I wear high waisted shorts, I often choose tops with embellishments at the bust-line, or pair with blazers with prominent shoulders, in order to balance my bottom half. The key to pulling them off is balance, so be honest about your shape and dress accordingly. I’m right on the border between hourglass and pear, what are you??

(I know I’m not wearing tights – I’m in the process of moving and didn’t want to dig them out- so use your imagination!)

If you aren’t sure of your body type, measure yourself! Its an easy way to get a quick snapshot of your body shape.

5 thoughts on “shorts + tights = lovee

  1. Looking really great! I have a pair of low rise “shorts” myself and having a hard time to match them with tops. I always tuck in slim tops or wear a body with them, just to get rid of the “bump” between the top and shorts if I use another sweater. But now you gave me some good ideas! 🙂 I’m not as good at clothes as I am at make-up, but I think I will have some outfits up as well really soon.

    • I’m glad I gave you some ideas.. I hate the dreaded “bump” that so often comes with shorts, tucking in a top or bodysuit is my favourite way to wear the higher rise shorts, but once they get too low I’m all about the long baggy tops! I’ll be looking out for your makeup looks!

I'd love your thoughts...

