menswear madness!

A menswear inspired business casual look is one of my favourite styles to wear, especially for summer because I love wearing shorts with a blazer!!

The key to getting this look right is to keep the feminine details,  and make sure your pieces FIT properly, not too tight or too loose and keep an eye on your proportions! Keep in mind its only menswear inspired, you aren’t dressing up in drag!

*

Here are a few of my favourite celeb menswear inspired looks:

kate mara

emma stone

ashley green

ginnifer goodwin

anne hathaway

alexa chung, goddess of the menswear look.

*

Tips on getting it right:

1. Stick to neutral pieces..
then add color with accessories or makeup. I love a red lip with a menswear inspired outfit.
2. Don’t over-accessorize..
carry only a small classic bag, wear stud earrings, a bold ring, cuff bangle or a watch.
3. Emphasize your waist!
with a belt (like emma),  a corset (like ashley) or high-waist bottoms (like ginnifer or alexa) 
4. Wear dark colors on the bottom..
black, navy, brown or grey will slim visually, while white widens, it also shows wrinkles more.
5. Wear heels!!
Unless you are long and lean like the lovely Alexa up there, wear a heel! Choose something that doesn’t cut off at the ankle I love a pointy toe as it elongates the leg more (Ginnifer,  ilu.. but those shoes are not right,  Kate Mara’s shoe choice is bang on)
6. Mix structure, with softness..
Alexa gets the look perfect with a great structured pair of shorts, paired with a silky light button down and a blazer that fits just right.
7. Do print properly, or not at all..
Kate’s sheer blouse and polka dot blazer add a feminine twist to the masculine trend, while Anne’s graphic tee is too casual. Had she pushed up the sleeves of her blazer and worn the shirt half-tucked she could maybe have gotten away with the casual look, but the long sleeves and the wrinkly suit are her undoing.

*

And my way of wearing the menswear trend:

My thought process:  The shorts are highwaisted, have pleating (to add structure and femininity) and are slimming being black. The shirt is silk, loosely draped and bright white, plus the scoop neck makes it more girly. Wearing solid black and white pieces is totally reminiscent of a tux, keep it polished by tucking in the blouse and when shopping for high-waist pieces make sure they hit on the narrowest part of your waist. Next I chose a  grey snakeskin belt to add a little polish and a little print (and it keeps the shorts sitting where they should be) without being overwhelming. Grey stilettos to elongate the legs in a neutral color to match the belt,  without being too overly matchy.  (I have shoes with the same snakeskin print too and that was a tempting choice.) I picked a  long grey cashmere sweater, because it was cold, and I wasn’t in the mood for a blazer. Then I wore very minimal accessories.. (a bangle- which broke to my great dismay and small turquoise drop earrings) and I carried my every day purse which I have been obsessed with since I got it months ago. I’m carrying it here: https://citystylecountrysmile.wordpress.com/2012/05/05/makeup-tutorial-what-i-wore-today/
2 thoughts on “menswear madness!

I'd love your thoughts...

