DIY- feather skirt

I can’t believe how quickly September has flown by, time flies when you’re having fun I suppose! With September quickly becoming October its time to start thinking of Halloween costumes!!

Halloween is such a fun holiday and a personal favorite of mine! Its a chance to remind yourself of childhood pleasures, stuff your face with miniature chocolate and be whomever you want to be!

I made this skirt for Halloween 2010 (predating the blog a bit so I apologize for not having tutorial photos!) Then Black Swan came out in December 2010, so my original costume was a “Bird of Paradise” (and I won “best costume” wearing it!!) but I immediately saw the potential to reuse it. Last year I went as Ace Ventura, (outfit thrifted at Divine, Calgary) but maybe this year I should be Nina!? What do you think? Any better ideas on who I should be? I’m open to suggestions.

black swan

This project takes a lot of time and patience, but it isn’t difficult.

First you’ll need a pleated black skirt, and several feather boas ( I used 6 but it will vary depending on your size.) I got everything at value village, they have TONS of Halloween stuff and the prices can’t be beat! Skirt $4 – Boa $8 each – Wings $10 get there soon to get the best selection and avoid the crazy crowds.

Starting at the bottom on a side seam, hand stitch the boas onto the skirt stretching out the pleats as you go. This will make the skirt full and bouncy. If you don’t know how to hand sew, its time to learn! Since the feathers will cover everything, you can use any thread you have on hand and it doesn’t have to be straight or perfect. Just make sure you’re thread is properly knotted and then its essentially up-down, up-down x 564632565 That’s not even an exaggeration, I estimate I put about 8 or so hours into sewing it! But, if you sit down and hand stitch while watching you’re favorite TV show you’ll have it done in no time so don’t despair!

All I did was sew the Boas around starting at the bottom and working my way up. At first just in circles (round and round and round) and then towards the top I had to loop back and forth to leave the zipper unobstructed. You’ll feel in the center of the boa a cord that the feathers are attached to, this is what you need to make sure your thread is looping over and securing down. Other than that, have patience my pretties!

Once your skirt is done (ps- I’d love to see photos!!) to finish the costume off find a strapless black top. (Mine is from Le Chateau, should be available in their outlet locations. As are the shoes.) The best thing about this Halloween costume is you can wear tights (yay, warmth!) and flats! (Yay, comfort!) The skirt is actually quite warm (now I know why birds are so fond of their feathers) but be a bit wary if you have allergies.. I was sneezing by the end of the evening!

time to spread your wings and learn to fly!
xo, a

I'd love your thoughts...

