Still thankful.

I have been feeling like I’ve been failing to post regularly enough here. There just aren’t enough hours in the day for all the naps I want to take, cake I want to eat, yoga I want to do and animals I want to snuggle. Then I have to do other stuff too like laundry and work and all those other mundane things life seems to force us into. And I need to find the time to post. This would be easier if I didn’t insist on being so wordy but c’est la vie!

Lately I’ve been thinking so much about the future and what I want to do with my life. I know I was supposed to have figured this all out by the end of high school but I didn’t quite have it together enough at that point to have any clue of what I wanted. I wasn’t even 18 yet I was supposed to have a 20 year plan? How?!

Instead of rushing into school I rushed out of small town life and into work in the city. I needed that time to find myself as a person, to figure out what I needed from life in order to be happy and come up with a realistic way to achieve those goals. So now that I have my 20 year plan, I just have to put it into action! I won’t bore you with the details but continuing to blog and write is a big part of the plan. (As is the hobbit house, which I will have someday!)

These last few weeks I’ve been really busy lately kicking the plan into gear. I’ve been working on lots of DIY projects, (see sneak peeks on instagram) which I’m excited to announce are available in the Gift Shop if you’re ever at the Rosebud Theatre! I recommend you come if you are ever in the area, and I’m not just saying that because I work there, it’s a beautiful town, the food is amazing and the shows are always well put on. Tuesday’s with Morrie is playing now (based on the book by Mitch Albom) and it has a great deal of wisdom worth sharing. I highly recommend reading the book if you can’t make it to the show!

One quote in particular resonates-

“So many people walk around with a meaningless life. They seem half-asleep, even when they’re busy doing things they think are important. This is because they’re chasing the wrong things. The way you get meaning into your life is to devote yourself to loving others, devote yourself to your community around you, and devote yourself to creating something that gives you purpose and meaning.”
― Mitch Albom, Tuesdays With Morrie

I want to devote my life to the things that matter. To me, and to the world. It’s part of the reason I run this blog, it’s important for me to create (even if its mediocre) to share (even if no one really cares) and to love what I do! If I could live in my hobbit house and read and write all day, then my life would be full of love. Because what I love most isn’t the things in the world, it is the world; the sky, the rain, the sun, the stars, the sound of wind through trees, of water over stones. Take the time to appreciate these things that are so often taken for granted. Be present in your life, feel the moment you are in, focus.

I’ve been taking my own advice and that’s why I haven’t been able I focus on posting- family comes first. My grandparents have needed support these last few months and it’s my number one priority to be there when I can. Yesterday they got a new puppy (if you follow me on instagram @aiyanajanee you already know) and its the cutest thing ever! I honestly cannot explain how important they are to me, or how thankful I am for all that they do and all that they are. Part of the reason I want the hobbit house so badly is because of my family. Our home, our farm, my grandfathers park- the history of our family is intertwined with this land and I do not want to lose that.

That brings me to the other reason I’ve been distracted from posting. I’ve been working with my mom on her fracking presentation. She (we) will be at Augustana University in Camrose November 2&3 2012 to speak about fracking and the devastating environmental effects it has; effects my family experienced first hand and that are being repeated all over the world.
I know most people don’t read this blog to listen to warnings of environmental doom but I really wish they did. What I find most frustrating about living in Alberta is the absolute apathy most people feel about the oil and gas industry. Most people are unwilling to believe or unable to see that there is a very real threat here. It’s highly possibly this land will become uninhabitable due to the repercussions from unchecked drilling. When I look around and see the dots of wells all over the countryside all I can think is what a god damn shame. If you have even the slightest interest (or just Eco-guilt) then I urge you to look into it more, starting here

Finally the rest of my time has gone into practicing with my dad. I supposed another reason I have to enjoy fall is it means that once harvest is over he has a bit of time to spend on things other than farming! My dad and I butt-heads all the time but it’s because we share so many traits- it would be funny if it wasn’t so annoying! One place we come together without argument is in making music. He likes to pretend that he’s no good but my father is a talented musician! We’re hoping to play a set sometime mid November, I’ll be sure to keep you posted!

So thats my excuse for not posting.. Too busy snuggling mini-dachshund puppies with my grandparents, saving the planet with my mom and singing the blues with my dad. Family first. Sorry ladies and gents!
Xo,a

20121013-011523.jpg

20121013-011754.jpg

I'd love your thoughts...

