Fall Essentials- everything under $30

This weekend I went into Calgary in search of a birthday gift for my brothers, but I had an ulterior motive… to pick up my fall must have pieces! If you follow on instagram you’ve already seen the pieces I bought!

Here I’m wearing only one new piece- the khaki green skinnies (which I got at Bluenotes, buy one get one for $10) I’ve wanted colored jeans since spring, but getting broken in the middle of summer put a real damper on my shopping! At first I was leaning towards mint (this springs hottest hue!) but I felt like the second I slipped them on the size of my thighs doubled. (Obviously not true, but a great deal of good style is being confident in your clothes, which you can’t do if you’re worried someone can see your thighs from space!) After trying on pair after pair of minty jeans I realized the color was just too light for me and my athletic legs!  So khaki it was- which is a better fall color anyways! Next on my list are colored cords, maybe in teal (my favourite color) or burgundy (the perfect tone for fall) what color are you dying to wear this fall? Let me know in the comments!

20121016-105639.jpg20121016-104951.jpgMy favourite photoshoot companion, Evie the kitty showed up!

Look how big she’s getting!! I can’t WAIT for kittens!!

20121016-115548.jpg

20121016-120154.jpg

20121016-121738.jpg

* SWEATER+ RIBBED TANK TOP + CROSS BODY BAG – le chateau (old) *
* BOOTS- winners * PU JACKET- suzy shier * SUNGLASSES – source for sports *
Everything I’m wearing cost less than $30 / piece – proof that looking good doesn’t have to cost a fortune!
PU SKIRT, PANTS – XXI FOREVER // DENIM- BLUENOTES This is the rest of what I bought while I was at Chinook Center! When I’m shopping I try to go in search of a few specific pieces at a time, going in with an idea of what I want to add to my wardrobe helps make it easier to stay focused and not overspend!

I’ve been dying to add some leather (pleather) pieces to my collection, especially this bubble skirt, which I literally HUNTED down in the zillions of racks at forever21 after seeing it a few weeks ago. Much cheaper than the Alice + Olivia version I’ve been drooling over for the longest time! When shopping for pleather look for pieces that aren’t too shiny, otherwise it often looks cheap and tacky. 

I also couldn’t resist these cute little knot rings from STONERIDGE. Amber Leaf ring from Mañana Imports in Kensington. Its my uncle’s store! If you’re in the area check it out, they have lot of beautiful pieces from all over the world!

xo, a

One thought on “Fall Essentials- everything under $30

I'd love your thoughts...

