DIY- Refurbished Secretary Desk

Hello my lovelies!

So I’m moving this weekend to a place where I will be sharing a bathroom… wait, shared? Whats a girl with a massive collection of makeup, skin and hair care products to do?! Since its shared space I don’t want to overtake the counter so I refinished this secretary desk I’ve had for years. I used it as a makeup table before and it was awesome, but it was getting pretty beat up so I gave it a makeover!

BEFORE:

Put down newspaper (or something of the sort) then remove all drawers, handles, shelves and screws. Sand down rough edges and any scratches. This should be done in a well ventilated area.

Spray paint the entire unit- use multiple THIN coats for even coverage that doesn’t run. Then spray the drawers- I chose to use two different metallic spray paints- silver for the body and gold for the inserts.

To replace the old handles, I painted these seashells curtain shower hooks blue and cut the wire backing down to the right length. Then use hot glue in the hole and the original backing to secure it.

Hand paint the edges of the piece with gold acrylic. On the fold-down shelf I spray painted the outside silver, and the inside gold. When its dry attach hardware and re-insert the drawers.

1. BEFORE 2. Base coat 3. Gold and Cobalt detailing 4. AFTER

AFTER:

MATERIALS: Krylon Spray Paint ( nickle, gold & silver) Folk Art Acrylic Paint (gold, cobalt) Sandpaper, Screwdriver, Seashell Curtain hooks, Hot glue gun and sticks, wire cutters, pliers, paintbrush.

refinished secretary desk diy

I have to admit, I’m very pleased with the result! And as a bonus the whole project took me about 8 hours, including drying time! The hardest part was cutting the curtain hooks, which could have been avoided if I hadn’t been too lazy to search out regular fake seashells, but Drumheller Walmart has a limited selection so I just made do. Its amazing what a difference a little paint and some hot-glue can make!

Maybe this post will inspire you to revamp a worn in piece!

xo, a!

I'd love your thoughts...

