Argan Hair Care

It’s been a little over a year since I decided to grow out my pixie cut and go back to long hair.  It seems to me I always want what I don’t have, looking back I miss my pixie, it was so easy, it styles better the longer you don’t shower, perfectly low maintenance and cute.  At the same time I look at older photos of my super long locks and miss them terribly.  The hardest part is the in between stage, I always feel utterly boring with a bob, but it can hardly be avoided if one wants to go from pixie cut to long layers. I could get extensions, but 1. I’m too cheap 2. I’m too lazy 3. they kinda weird me out… someone else’s hair on your head!! What if it comes alive and tries to kill you like that episode of the Simpsons where Homer gets a hair transplant!!? No, thank you.

pixie cut for straight hair

THEN: super short pixie cut circa December 2011 – dyed dark red

long wavy hair with a triple barrel curling iron

GOAL: long layers, natural hair color, waved with a triple barrel curling iron.

NOW: A LONG BOB- supremely unremarkable hairstyle

 My hair was color treated for a couple years, I decided the best way to get rid of it and avoid roots was to chop it short and grow it out.  I noticed that after I had dyed it, my hair was more brittle, tangled more, and was generally more unmanageable. Plus, I’ll let you in on a secret, I’m SUPER lazy about my hair… having to maintain with dye every few weeks, such a hassle! I haven’t dyed it since November 2011, my hair is all natural now, I have cut it a few times since I started growing it out, to even out the wacky layers and rid myself of dead ends. Did you know cutting your hair regularly stimulates growth? So even though its hard to watch those extra inches go, they will grow back stronger and healthier with regular trims!

One year in and patience is waning at this point, I certainly have at least another year of growing before I’m close to my goal length.  I’ve been looking into supplements like Biotin and Silica and might just try to see if they help it grow even faster. Stay tuned! In the mean time; “just keep growing, just keep growing, what do we do? We grow, grow, GROW!”

To stimulate growth and keep hair shiny, soft and smooth, I recently picked up this Argan Oil Conditioner, Pure Argan Oil, and  a Soy Milk Shampoo, all from Winners. I use the pure oil whenever I use hot tools on my hair- turn head upside down and apply to the ends working your way up to the scalp. To get a shiny smooth blowout, use Argan Oil, a boar bristle brush, and then blow dry on cool to lock in shine. Argan Oil is an amazing de-tangler, apply it directly to knots and comb out gently; my hair knots like crazy, it’s part of the reason I tend to go for short hair every couple years, Argan will help prevent breakage as you fight the tangles! Apply it to your hair and give yourself regular head massages which will stimulate blood flow and increase hair growth.  In the photos you can still see some of the sun-streaks in the front from this summer, I used this DIY Lemon Lightening Spray to get natural highlights.

…and a sneak peak at an upcoming post, I’m loving this Equestrian style blazer!

silk scarf and tank, wool blazer - le chateauHope you’re having a wonderful weekend! xo, a

4 thoughts on “Argan Hair Care

  1. Haha, right on spot Aiyana! I’m in exactly the same point as you are! Growing out my hair again since having a really short haircut and wanna go back to my LONG hair. I have the same length as you now, and I just wanna shoot myself because it feels like it never grows! Getting married in late July and desperately want my long hair back then. I hope you don’t mind if I take inspiration from you in a very near future and make a post about my hair ordeals? Such a great idea… All the best to you and may your hair grow fast (even though you look fab in medium length)! 🙂

I'd love your thoughts...

