Sheer Brilliance- neon, chiffon & boyfriend jeans

Take a simple black blouse and boyfriend jeans to the next level by adding bright coral accessories

DENIM by MAVI  ||  HEELS by GUESS  ||  BAG + BANGLES by ALDO  ||  BLOUSE + SUNNIES by LeCHATEAU

I have to admit, I am a matchy-matchy person by heart. The whole effortlessly-thrown-together-without-a-care look, I can’t quite do it, something always matches.  I mostly do this with my accessories, I love adding color to a look with punchy shoes or a great bag.  I bought these two pieces right around the same time. First I got the bag, then I found these beautiful Guess heels and I obviously HAD to have those too, after all, they matched.

Patent accessories are a nod to the neon trend dominating the runways for spring, pair with the menswear inspired pant and a chiffon blouse for balance. My roommate gave me these jeans because they didn’t fit her, lucky me! I love the relaxed fit of this Mavi boyfriend denim. I’m thinking of DIY destroying them a bit, perhaps when they get a bit more worn out, for now I have been enjoying the great wash and quality of the denim. When cuffing jeans roll up the hem in even sections (about an inch) to the slimmest part above your ankle, then scrunch the hems to make them look imperfect, but not unbalanced.

Since I’m already making style confessions here’s another- if I find an item that works really well for me, I often buy it in multiples. For example, I have this blouse in 4 colors… its a go-to for me because I love the fit and the drape. It looks  either casual or professional, depending on how you style it.  A bright bra underneath the sheer chiffon makes this look a bit edgy without being over the top. (I swear, it is actually quite subtle, even though in the one photo the flash illuminates the bra like a neon sign!) Choose a full coverage bra and a loose fitting sheer top to try this trend, and when in doubt, wear the same color or all black! If it’s not immediately obvious to you, the bra-baring trend is not an office appropriate look, leave this for Friday night! 

enjoy your weekend girlies,

XO, AIYANA JANE

4 thoughts on “Sheer Brilliance- neon, chiffon & boyfriend jeans

I'd love your thoughts...

