X Marks the Spot

Yesterday was depressing. Today, the first day of spring, started with hope and happiness!  I took a good long run (and stopped to do some yoga on the banks of the Bow River) enjoying the sunshine that finally hit Calgary.  Speaking of which, apparently our chilly city edged out the capital for the No. 1 city to live in Canada, so go team!  It was such a nice day today, I spend some extra time appreciating Bowmont Park, this city and all that it has to offer! (I still can’t wait for summer and stampede season though!)
x marks the spot

wearing: clutch and tops by sirens  ||  beanie by joe fresh  ||  Converse low tops  ||  Bluenotes denim ||  sunnies by ardenes

I borrowed some of my roomie’s style for this post (the clutch and undershirt are hers, and she gave me these jeans) since certain color palettes look better on certain people, I also decided to borrow her hair color too since grey and blue look better on the blondes! I love this sweater and the little skulls give it some punky edge, by layering the chambray button-up underneath, the preppy polka dot collar makes this outfit a cool easy mix of styles.  Converse super low riders, skinny jeans and a beanie topper complete this easy layered spring look!

I was feeling a bit inspired as well by one of my favourite fictional characters ever as well, Veronica Mars, who is anything but a dumb blonde!  When I tell you I am obsessed with that show, know that I mean truly obsessed!  I was thinking about it because in the TV series Veronica presents such a strong and inspiring character *spoiler alert* particularly in the way she handles being sexually assaulted.  I always thought that she was such a smart and talented character for girls to look up to.  Then in season three, Veronica Mars was cancelled, and in its time slot was The Pussycat Dolls- Search for the Next Doll.  Shoot me.   Talk about another perfect example of rape culture and sex selling, I still remember my outrage that a well written show with a strong female lead character was axed for a bunch of bimbo strippers trying to be the next hyper-sexualized example of female perfection.  Okay, I’ll stfu about it, if you already read my Steubenville post, you’ve had more than enough.

Anyways, the real reason I bring up Veronica, is because my fictionalized female heroine is set to come to the big screen thanks to a Kickstarter fundraiser, where fans raised money for the film in less than 11 hours! More about that here! Honestly, if you have never seen the show, WATCH IT.  I hardly watch any TV, but when I find a series I love, its because it is worth watching.  It like if Sherlock Holmes met Pretty Little Liars. Veronica Mars people, she’ll be kicking some ass on screen sometime in early 2014, that gives you plenty of time to become a super-fan of the series before the movie.  Or if you’ve been a long time V Mars fan, which supporting characters are you hoping to see?  Personally if there is no Logan and Veronica resolution ima be upset.

Hope you started off your spring in style!!

xo, aiyanajane 

10 thoughts on “X Marks the Spot

  1. Beautiful photos! The blue in the sky really highlights the blue in your outfit. Still loving the blonde hair it really works with the colours in this look. Love it!

I'd love your thoughts...

