mint & gold

mint blazer, gold sequin shorts, nude heels

blazer, blouse, heels by LeCHATEAU  ||  shorts – thrifted, similar here  ||  iPhone clutch, LA rings, skull ring, heart bangle, braided headband by ALDO

I have to make a confession, my infatuation with gold is relatively new… for years I was a strict silver jewelry girl, I also boycotted the color brown during this phase.  I decided for some reason that they were boring colors and should be reserved for old people.  Ahh, to be 15 again.  Thankfully I’m over it and now I am obsessed with gold jewelry, to the point where I am thinking about changing my medusa piercing to a gold gem, what do you think? I love how gold looks on tan skin, maybe in time for summer!

Last week we had a few days where it was like.. 18 whole degrees.. so I borrowed my BFFs blazer and busted out my new sequin shorts for a cute spring look. I love the color mint, but I always feel like it looks much better on blondes, generally I prefer bolder tones for myself.  That’s why its such a bonus to have a friend who’s clothes you can borrow! 

To satisfy my gold-fever I just bought this gorgeous feather necklace from Silla, a local boutique in Kensington (they have a shop in Lethbridge as well) they have mostly jewelry and some cute hippie style clothing, its worth checking out for the beautiful displays alone! My brass branch ring is from a store down the street, Purr, and my turtle knuckle ring is from Manana Imports, which is a couple stores over.  Generally if I go shopping in Calgary I like to hit either Kensington or 17th Avenue, absolutely if you come visit those are the areas to see- cool shops, bars, restaurants and lots of interesting people.

The main reason that I love Kensington (and 17th) is all the consignment and vintage shops.  When I walked into Trends and laid eyes on these gold sequin shorts I actually squee’d with joy.  It was kinda embarrassing… then that doubled when I found a pair of mint leather shorts and double squee’d.  The thing is, I love shorts, and I love sparkles, and leather… so really I just couldn’t help but express my joy through a shrill squeal. Hope you ladies are even a fraction as excited to see this outfit as I was to wear it! Thanks for reading gorgeous girls!

xo, aiyanajane 

9 thoughts on “mint & gold

I'd love your thoughts...

