spring on the prairie

IMG_3675

 

As much as I love the city, the country is where my heart is… it’s home.  Alberta is a harsh place, but every spring the land is carpeted in crocus flowers and for a week or two, and the hillside is tinted lavender.  Crocus represent everything the prairie means to me- they are a perfect juxtaposition of soft beauty and hard reality.  They push through the dead grass and bloom in tufts of lilac, short stems covered in a fine fuzz to ward off the spring snows. They are the first brief sign of life after an exhausting winter.  Its May and we’ve had nearly 7 months of snow and cold, so the sight of purple flowers and blue skies is so welcome.  Most importantly, the crocus remind me of my grandmother, who embodies so many of the same characteristics- soft and strong, beautiful and resilient  I took these photo’s for her, she wanted to share the subtle beauty of the prairie with our family in Denmark.

Yesterday I talked about how I believe that something good will always come around to make up for the bad.  Sometimes it might take a while, but the key is to keep pushing and hold fast to the belief that hard times will lead to greater rewards.  Like the crocus, you must push through last years waste and grow strong and beautiful.  We like to fool ourselves into believing that life get’s easier, but the reality is life is a constant challenge.  If we could just accept that life will always require hard work, we might be much happier and achieve much more.

There is a quote by Scottish writer Ian Maclaren  “Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.”  Our lives and struggles, of course, are relative- but no matter what is going on in your life – how lucky or blessed you may be otherwise, when we fall on hard times it feels as though our whole world is coming down around us.  What you must remember is the one thing we can be certain of – life goes on and the world is not quite so fragile as to fall apart on the whims of our emotions. Work hard, keep pushing, and keep moving forward – life doesn’t allow you to go back.

My grandparents, as I have mentioned before, are two of the most important people in my life, and its because they’ve taught me so much over the years. My grandfather, more than anyone I know, is the living embodiment of finding the joy in hard work.  I feel sad when people are hesitant to spend time with their grandparents, or with seniors.  Youth so often makes us impatient, we don’t want to wait for them to remember the point of their story when we have our iPhone’s in hand to entertain us with instant-updates from the latest celebrity scandal, but their generation grew up during a time when technological distractions weren’t available, and so instead they had to look at the real world, as a result, they kinda know a lot about it.  My grandmother loves the crocus for what they represent, that life will carry on being beautiful, even in the harshest conditions and if only for a brief moment in time.  We can learn so much if we only take the time.

Shortly after I took these, my grandmother called me with the greatest news ever.  Her and my grandfather are feeling well enough to travel, and are planning to visit their family in Denmark… and they’ve asked me to come along.  COULD I BE ANY MORE EXCITED?!  I visited DK once before in 2008 after graduating high school, this time we leave right after I graduate from college! I finish classes at the end of May, then we watch my youngest brother graduate high school and are on the next flight out-  May is going to be so exciting!  I can’t wait to spend a week relaxing and eating all the delicious European food! Mostly I am excited to see my beautiful cousin Andrea, who normally I just stalk on her blog.

Spring on the prairie is all about new life and new beginnings.  We have lots of cute little calves running around, including the Highland cows in the photos above – bringing a little bit of my Scottish side to Alberta. (Mom’s Scottish, Dad’s Danish). Its so nice to finally see LIFE again on the prairie after a long frozen winter,  I am getting so excited for summer!  One more month of the tough life – work and school, then I graduate (and little bro!) and fly to Europe.  By the time I return it will be June and full blown summer here in Calgary, with Stampede just around the corner.  I can’t wait for more summer style posts- my favourite bloggers are all from LA where its an eternal summer.. I’ve mentioned before how different my style would be if I wasn’t hindered half the year by cold temperatures! Back to style posts tomorrow, today I just wanted to share the other half of my life! Thanks for reading babes!

xo, aiyanajane

Check out  www.rosebudsburningwater.wordpress.com

3 thoughts on “spring on the prairie

  1. Wow, half Scandinavian then! Great ancestry! 😉 A part of my family emigrated to the states in the 1910’s or so. Times were tough back in Sweden then so many people chose to leave. The only thing I know is that my relatives went to Illinois and lived around the Chicago area. Sadly my grandmother lost touch with them and nowadays we don’t know anything about them.

I'd love your thoughts...

