Casual Friday

IMG_3722 IMG_3712

IMG_3703

denim – american eagle  ||  blazer + beanie + pashmina – le chateau  || shoes + sunnies – ardenes  || cross body bag – colab  || striped sweater – quicksilver  || belt – michael kors 

Thank God its Friday!  What have you girls got planned for the weekend?  I’ve said it before, I live in this kind of business-casual uniform: skinnies, sunnies, blazer, beanie and a blouse.. it’s pretty fool proof!  In Calgary knowing how to layer is crucial, cold mornings, hot afternoons. I’m carrying every Canadian’s pre-work staple- the Extra Large Timmy-Ho’s.  Something most people don’t believe about me is that I hate coffee, in all its forms- if it’s coffee flavoured I do not want it in or around my mouth.  I take after my lovely mum, Earl Grey tea for me please!

This blazer is possibly my favourite ever- I posted The Basic’s Every Woman Needs and at the top of the list is a black blazer.  This one has all the things I look for- amazing seaming and tailoring, a single button, three-quarter sleeves and cute polka-dot lining!   I love the subtle polka dots with this striped knit top; shades of black, white and grey are perfect for foolproof print-mixing.   For work I lose the beanie and the aviators (and the scarf, its usually hot in the office) but these are all staple accessories for me to throw on every day! I usually like to wear flats on Friday to work, that way I can switch my shoes to dress up the look and last all night long in heels!

To dress up denim for work, every woman needs a good leather belt.  Truthfully, there are a great deal of hideous and impractical belts lurking on ladies sale racks- that’s why I head to the men’s department whenever I want a great basic leather belt- this one is from one of my favorite designer’s- Michael Kors.  Speaking of which, have you seen this Watch Hunger Stop campaign? 1 watch = 100 meals  and I really, really want the gold and turquoise watch.  A watch is another crucial investment piece for a woman, so why not be reminded that your watch helped someone? And that its pretty. So very pretty.

Speaking of pretty, Happy Friday to you! Have a fabulous weekend!

xo, aiyanajane

12 thoughts on “Casual Friday

  1. Such an easy and chic look. Love it!

    live fabulous, goodbadandfab.com
    personal style and fashion musings of an LA fashion lawyer living life in the fab lane!

I'd love your thoughts...

