Favourite Things

IMG_4217

|| denim by american eagle || shoes by guess || watch by la mer || bag by co-lab || leather jacket, tank, pashmina by le chateau ||

When I’m in a rush (which in the morning I often am) I tend to go back to pieces that I really, really love. My favourite color is teal blue, like when you look at the ocean and its the most magical shade – I pretty much like any color remotely close to that blue-green spectrum, which is why this pashmina is possibly my favourite scarf I own. I bought it while I was working at Le Chateau, and I NEVER bought stuff right when it came in, but this scarf was different, as I opened the stock box and unwrapped it from its plastic tomb, I just knew that scarf needed to come home with me. I never regretted it. Maybe this is why I’m okay with no kids – I treat clothing like my little rescue babies. You’ll come home with me my pretties, and I will love you, you will not be forgotten at the back of some unfashionable closet somewhere.

I have similar feelings about these pants ($11), shoes($60), bag ($40) and jacket($35). They have a few things in common, all were on sale – the shoes, bag and skinnies at Winners, the jacket I got at a Le Chateau outlet for half off the sale price. If you go to an outlet and hunt through the racks of polyurethane you will be sure to find a few genuine leather or suede pieces at really great prices! The key to great bargain shopping is patience. I prefer to go alone so no one is waiting on me or, alternatively, slowing me down!

Shades of blue pair so easily together, most people don’t realize that blue is practically a neutral itself!All these pieces are current (or in the jacket’s case, long term) infatuations, so wearing them all together of course just makes me happy. When you are wearing something that makes you feel happy and confident it shows – pairing my trusty leather jacket with trendy mint pants and these killer metallic heels spiked my confidence through the roof. (Okay it didn’t really until I wore this to pick up groceries after work and turned heads in every isle I walked down. I’m certain its the shoes, I caught more than a few people staring at them.) I know Safeway isn’t exactly a catwalk, but the point is that dressing well will lead to feelings of confidence! I’m not the first woman to think so either!

xo, aiyanajane

chanel date with destiny quote

are we friends on instagram yet? why not!? click the pic!

2 thoughts on “Favourite Things

I'd love your thoughts...

