black//white

Black and white outfit with red heels

|| blazer, belt (similar), heels, clutch by LeCHATEAU  || leather shorts by JESSICA SIMPSON  ||

I mentioned before that I bought this blazer right before I lost a bunch of weight, then it was too big for me to wear and I was sad!  Never one to give up a great piece over something simple like size, I decided to cinch the waist in with this kimono inspired leather belt.  Okay, its actually pleather… but guess how much it cost me? 50 cents – YEAH BUDDY.

Bold stripes and shoulders on this blazer tend to make a girl look boxy, especially when wearing a couple sizes too large – an obi belt cinches the waist and breaks up the stripes, giving the illusion of a tiny midsection.  I love the natural texture of the (faux) leather paired with the bold graphic stripes – leather shorts and an over-sized patent envelope clutch play it up even more. Black and white continues to be one of my favourite trends for spring, maybe its my inner Canadian but I love punching up this trend with a pop of red – these suede platform pumps are perfect.  My little brother gave me these shades after I complained and complained about how the nose piece of my aviators gets tangled in my hair, causing some serious white girl problems. He’s the best, I always steal his sunnies and he always lets me – I’ve never worn white sunglasses before but I like these ones, maybe because the arms are black, or maybe because they were free!

I mentioned before that I love jewelry with a story- I brought this panther bangle back from Punta Cana, then it broke!  Fortunately for me I have the most amazing grandfather- the man can fix anything, and he fixed my bangle for me with a little welding or soldering or something.  Every time I look at it I think of a beautiful trip and my sweet grandfather.  My Celtic knot ring is from Scotland, the turtle ring is from my uncle’s store in Kensington, the gold branch ring is from another local boutique, Purr.  I tend to fidget, so this way each twist of my ring takes me back to a memory with my family somewhere special.  Speaking of somewhere special, I leave for Denmark in just a few days- I am so excited you guys!  So much to do in the next couple days to prepare!

xo, aiyanajane

8 thoughts on “black//white

  1. Wowza you look absolutely stunning in that blazer! Who’d have thought it was too big, looks wicked just belted up like that! I have the same belt but in a nude colour how weird 😉 gonna have to get it out again after seeing it on you! xx

I'd love your thoughts...

