Calgary floods

Its been difficult to get new photos lately due to the fact its been raining for weeks (I’ve been super busy too) I missed most of it while gallivanting in beautiful Denmark, but this last week has been rather damp. I don’t mind, I love the water, love the rain, but it can stop anytime now. If you haven’t heard Calgary is underwater- at least the neighborhoods close to either of the two rivers that run though the city. Normally I complain about how much I miss living in Mission, by the Elbow River, but I’m glad I live on a hill now! I went for a run tonight despite the rain (there’s a trail that overlooks the river) and saw the flooding for myself. Bowness and Montgomery, the area behind me in both shots, are flooded. The water has risen at least 10 feet I would say, its nearly touching the bottom of this bridge I’m standing on, the homes behind me are flooded, and the water is still rising. There is widespread flooding and residents are being evacuated in Calgary, Canmore and High River. I feel terrible for the thousands of people who are out of their homes, and the millions of dollar in damage. At this point though, I kinda wish the law firm I worked for was downtown so I could have the time off work! (I’m kidding, because it would actually be a giant pain and I like my job!)

Keep Calgary in your thoughts and let me know which outfit you prefer, click to to see the full posts, and leave your vote below for your favourite!\

IMG_2868

on a normal spring day, the river is full but safe,  by June 21, 2013, flood water has risen and is nearly touching the bottom of the bridges.

bowness

full post – animal insticts

IMG_2762

flooding in Montgomery and Bowness is extensive, water has risen to the level of the bridges, leaving tree and rooftops tops poking out of rushing water

bowness

Edgy animal print or sweet white lace, which style do you prefer? Thanks for reading,

xo, aiyanajane

 

2 thoughts on “Calgary floods

  1. The Calgary floods seem terrible, they will be in my thoughts for sure. And as for your outfits, they are both really amazing! They’re so different that they can’t really be compared, but if I had to choose I like the second outfit better. It’s more girly and I love your skirt!

    -Megan
    http://mymyitsmegan.blogspot.com/
    (I’m a totally new blogger so if you have any suggestions please let me know! Thanks!)

I'd love your thoughts...

