sail away

IMG_6771IMG_6780IMG_6785
IMG_6761IMG_6796IMG_6778
IMG_6763IMG_6784
IMG_6779
IMG_6760

IMG_6789

skirt by MONKI  || necklace by H&M  ||  concert tee – 36 crazyfists  || pumps by LECHATEAU  ||  sunnies by ARDENE

*

With Calgary being it it’s current unsettled and somewhat submerged state, I have been feeling a little ironically inspired with everything nautical.  Truth be told I just love nautical for spring/summer every year, and normally it’s not ironic because generally Alberta doesn’t flood itself into oblivion but I digress..
You probably all realize by now that I’m a sentimental type… and a bit wordy, but I firmly believe the best kind of fashion is the kind with a story behind it.  That’s why this outfit makes me so happy.  For one, I’m wearing this old band tee, which was one of the first shows I attended at the tender age of 15 (ish), I love going to shows, I have many more band tee’s to style!  This one is a little tight and short from years of dryer assaults so usually I just sleep in it, but looks adorable tucked into a high-waist skirt!  
A fit and flare skirt like this is probably my #1 essential wardrobe piece.. seriously they flatter EVERYONE.  To find the most flattering fit it should sit at the natural waist (the smallest part of your midsection) and a few inches above the knee if you have short legs like me!  
For nautical looks, red and navy are a sure bet and whenever I want to instantly feel more fabulous I put on red heels and red lipstick!  This Clinique High Impact Lipstick in Red-y to Wear is another absolute essential.
I found this 100% cotton skirt in Denmark while I was shopping with the beautiful Andrea Rungholm, who sent me this H&M necklace for Christmas last year-  she’s so sweet! I chose punk inspired silver bangles from punta cana and rings from a selection of my favourite Calgary boutiques.  Wearing clothes that remind me of people or experiences I love is what makes personal style so interesting to me, its why I love reading other blogs to see all the little differences and quirks!  
This polka-dot skirt reminds me of one of my favourite bloggers who is always so sweet and happens to really love polka-dots.  Who else but the lovely Yi-Chia of Always Maylee, she’s hosting a really inspiring giveaway with Elegantee’s;  all of their clothes are sewn by women rescued from human trafficking. Be sure to check it out!

xo, aiyanajane

PS – What do you guys think of these video’s ?

 Should I post more? Let me know in the comments and if you like, follow @aiyanajane on youtube + vine  + instagram

6 thoughts on “sail away

I'd love your thoughts...

