floral & leather

pleated leather skirtcrop top and skater skirtfloral bustier, leather skater skirtcrop top and skirt floral bustierstop and smell the flowers floral crop top, leather skirt

stampede stylesummer accesoriesleather skirt and curls

skirt XXI FOREVER  ||  bag MATT & NAT  ||  bustier SIRENS  ||  shoes + accessories ALDO

Floral is always perfect for summer, and this micro-print is very country/western without being over the top.  When I get dressed for Stampede its always more western inspired than flat-out “stampede”  I mean, everyone knows a plaid shirt, denim cut-offs and cowboy boots are a prerequisite, I try to put personal style into it while mixing in practicality. This crop top is light enough that the heat is slightly more bearable and shows just enough skin without being hoochie.  Honestly, I’m pretty sure the grounds are a teenage boy’s  idea of heaven with the number of girls showing off their “assets”

Anyways, onto more important things, I died over THIS Alice and Olivia leather skater skirt (and the price tag to go with it) so when I spotted this one at F21 and they didn’t have my size, I literally hunted it down in another store and found the last one!  So worth it.  Friday night, true to Stampede style, kicked off with massive rainstorms and flash-flooding in some parts of the city (leave us alone, weather gods!) this skirt will not soak up water (thanks, pleather!) so if I get caught in the rain at least I’ll dry off quickly!  I paired it with braided gold sandals because I plan to be doing a ton of walking and the asphalt gets so hot down there that I honestly consider cowboy boots to be completely unwearable.  ONE year my friends convinced me to bust out my boots (usually reserved for actual riding..) and get into the spirit on the grounds.  (They’re actually all dead now, I murdered them after I went crazy with hot. blistered feet.) Happy feet make for happy Stampeding, and I really don’t feel the need to prove my western merit by mashing my feet into a boiled pulp. So, sandals.

Its really weird trying to dress for 35 degree weather with a 99% chance of thundershowers.  Its usually so hot that the flash of rain is almost welcome, but not actually, cause I think it’s safe to say that Calgary has had enough rain for a while!

I am all about minimalism when I go out, I don’t wanna have to worry about carrying a bunch of stuff.. this cross-body bag adds the perfect pop of color and it keeps your hands free to play games and pet animals and drink beer.  This Matt and Nat beauty was the first thing I ever ordered from Karmaloop, which started my addiction, so it has a bit of a soft-spot in my heart. For one thing, its 100% recycled, and it has 3 zip compartments; one for your money and cards, one for makeup or what have you, and a little front pocket perfectly iPhone sized- which I am still using to take all my photos (boo, quality) while nit-picking over camera shopping.

Anyways, off to the grounds! I hope you all have a beautiful Saturday!

xo, aiyanajanee

stampede style

6 thoughts on “floral & leather

  1. Such a pretty blog name for an even prettier lady! You look fabulous and you know I’m all about crop tops and skater skirts! Love the floral top and I have to agree it’s so perfect for summer. I love that you paired a leather skirt for an edgy summer look!

    • Thanks sweetie, your style is totally part of the inspo here! I think the leather skirt is the only one from your collection I’ve ruled out because i have this one haha!

I'd love your thoughts...

