graphic B/W

black and white street style
aztectribal print and aviators
city style mini skirt and blousesmile gap toothskirt spinstyling a mini for workskirt and sheer blouse
 
summer work outfit

skirt BAND OF GYPSIES || blouse + shoes + blazer LeCHATEAU || sunnies ARDENE

To make it over hump-day, when thinking about anything other than the rest of the week seems like too daunting of a task,  I tend to lean towards black & white.   Usually when I get dressed I base my outfit around a single “inspiration” piece.   Here I wanted the print on the skirt to be the center of attention so I paired it with a tuxedo blouse and my trusty nude pumps.   I am  actually obsessed with this skirt for summer – I love the print.. aztec? tribal?   Whatever you want to call it, I am a fan of the abstract black and white!  It’s a lovely silk  skater skirt with an elastic waist, which makes it super comfortable, light, cool and perfectly floaty.  All prerequisites for any great piece!

This combination of a fit and flare skirt and a 3/4 sleeve button-up it my absolute go-to for a fool-proof chic outfit.  This outfit flatters all body shapes, just make sure the skirt sits at the smallest part of your mid-section and tuck in a silk blouse. I have about 7 versions of this blouse, all basically the same cut just in different colors/fabrics and embellishments… and you don’t even want me to count the number of skirts I have.  They pair together in endless, perfect possibilities though!  To cover up, a single-button blazer is also the most flattering style because it will nip in right at the waist, invest in a great tailored piece that will stay classic for years.   

A printed skirt like this is a nod towards all the Stampede going-on’s without being too costume-y for work.  A tailored blazer keeps it professional and a button up blouse balances the short hemline.    To take this look from the “work” to “western” switch to a pair of cowboy boots and add a denim vest!  Or, just take a break mid-week, if like me, you’re still recovering from a weekend full of stampede “spirit”!   Most residents like to show a little spirit.. but an entire ten days of western themed regalia (and festivities) is a bit too much for the best of us.

xo, aiyanajane

make me smile, click the photo to follow on instagram!

 

3 thoughts on “graphic B/W

I'd love your thoughts...

