shoes

Maybe it’s just me, but every summer I seem to be exceptionally hard on shoes.   Trekking over all sorts of terrain, from Stampede, to hiking, to shopping, to the farm, I am always in need of a versatile pair of flats… and I can never resist stopping at Ardene’s for the 2 for $15 deal.  Sure, they are poor quality, but I’ve observed over the years that the lifetime of my shoes doesn’t much depend on their price point, I’m just really hard on them.  Some call me the “Destroyer of Soles!”  (Although they might have meant “souls” & this is how I choose to interpret it!)
mocasins

STUDDED MOCCASINSmulticolored sneakers

STRIPED SNEAKERS
red sneakersSIMPLE SLIP-ON

studded loafers

STUDDED LOAFERS

I’ve been living in these shoes this summer.  Don’t get me wrong, heels are my first and true love, but a good pair of walking shoes is absolutely crucial.  To make them even more comfortable switch out the  inner-sole for a padded insert, like these gel insoles.  A pair of shoes that you can easily slip on and run around all day in are essential for work when all you want to do is go outside and play!  With the rainy weather we’ve had here in Calgary lately these have been even more crucial than usual, as I forgo flip-flops for a little more foot protection.

I’m not kidding when I say I’m often just running around in a giant rush.. so shoelaces? Ain’t nobody got time fo’ dat!  Literally every single pair of shoes I own that is supposed to be laced and tied, I have knotted, cut and turned into slip-on’s.  I highly recommend it, it’s simple and saves precious seconds better used for sleeping than shoe-lace-tying!  How-To is below!
no more shoelaces

  1. Lace your shoes to fit comfortably, then double knot each lace as close to the eyelet as possible.
  2. Pull the string tight and carefully use a lighter to burn off the excess shoe-lace.
  3. Use a popsicle stick (or your finger if you like to live dangerously like I do) to tap the melted lace down on the knot to seal it!

Viola!  Now slip into your newly simplified shoes and hit the ground running!

Which pair is your favourite?  I lean towards the black studded ones (shocking).

xo, aiyanajanee

I'd love your thoughts...

