short & sweet

total look – le chateau (S11)

I don’t want to be that guy but with the recent resurgence of the short-suit a little part of me is all “pshh.. way ahead of you.”

I fell in love with this blazer right when I first started working at Le Chateau (like, a long time ago).  The problem was that the accompanying school-girl-esque skirt to match was far to hideous for anyone to wear as anything other than as part of a costume, and the ill fitted, ridiculously wide-leg pants were not exactly flattering.

So I bought the blazer, and it pairs perfectly with denim (thank you navy, the most versatile neutral since black…) but what I really wanted was a suit, a matching one… what’s a girl to do when suiting comes with a great blazer… and the worst separates ever?

The rest of the retail world agreed that those bottoms were not worth money and they went on sale super quickly. It didn’t take me long to decide that hideous-high-waist-parachute-looking-pants could be transformed relatively easily into shorts.. and by relatively, I mean extremely easily, because I just asked a fashion student friend of mine to hem them up for me (like, way up!)   Sale price + employee discount + one sewing-machine-owning friend later and TAH- DAH!   A short suit… with perfectly matching pinstripes!

Even though summer here in Calgary has been determinedly gloomy as of late, on those (rare) super hot days (when you wish the office would just close on account of good weather) its nice to slip into shorts for a simple and chic work outfit.  Happy Tuesday!

xo, aiyana jane

6 thoughts on “short & sweet

  1. Hi! I ended up here from the Google and I have to say that first, you are so beautiful and I LOVE your teeth. Secondly, your blog went straight to my bookmarks.:) But I have no more to say, i just wanted to say those ^^ Spend a good rest of the summer!

    -Maria
    p.s. Greetings here from Finland, Lapland! (and it explains my poor english…)

  2. Great look! I love a blazer and need to wear one with shorts pronto! I miss Le Chateau. There aren’t any in Seattle, but I grew up in Ontario, where they were easy to find. Vancouver is the only time I get to shop there now.

    • They are starting to open stores in the states and they do ship internationally online now, I have a love/hate relationship with the company because their clothes are amazing but their treatment of me as an employee…. not so much!

I'd love your thoughts...

