Chambray Shirt(Dress)

chambray shirt, striped cardigan, leather bound sketch bookknuckle rings, layered rings, ethic jewelry, silverchambray shirt dressmulti-color stripe sweater, tight and bootschambray, stripes, topknot, fall fashionfall layers

Chambray, Sweater & Sunnies by LE CHATEAU |  Boots by Spring  | Belt & Rings via Manana Imports

Chambray has been a trend I have been hesitant to embrace for the longest time.. and I don’t even know why.  Its one of those things I love on everyone else but can never quite get to like on myself. Until now.  This blouse is a nod to the trend that is absolutely taking over, but its a bit of a cheat – the top is actually a light cotton/linen blend, not very denim-like at all.. which is probably why I ended up with it after literally years of hesitation to embrace the chambray-way. I always found it so stiff- this fabric is light and soft!  I also love the pin-tucking detailing on the bust- its classic tailoring that finishes a piece to make it very flattering; look for little tailored details like this when you shop.

At this point I’ve basically accepted that we aren’t getting a summer here in Alberta.. its been rainy and overcast and determinedly MEH.  (The amount of complaining I do about the weather here, you’d think this was a climate blog and not about style. )  Always trying to look on the bright side (but rarely succeeding)  at least August means fall fashion is in full swing.  In Canada we dress the way the rest of the world dresses for fall about 90% of the year (and the rest of the time we’re snuggled up in parkas in our igloos) so you have to be good with layers in order to live here.

One thing I always do with everything is roll up the sleeves.  Unless its the dead of winter, my sleeves are pushed up to my elbows; I rolled the sleeves up prior to putting the sweater on (that way they’re even) and then cuffed the chambray sleeve over it.  I love the multi-color stripes on this sweater, and the length is perfect for layering over this tunic so that I can wear it with tights. I don’t buy into the “leggings aren’t pants” movement…  as far as I’m concerned if you can’t see crotch, then pants are for the weak.  Our house motto is “Everyday feels like Sunday when you don’t wear pants.”  Its truly liberating, I recommend you try it.

Another layering essential? The belt; this one is hand beaded leather from Guatemala.  If you live in Calgary stop by Manana Imports in Kensington for fair trade pieces from all over the world. This leather bound sketchbook and all the rings are from Manana as well; it’s my uncle’s store and I help out from time to time but I end up just shopping!  Come visit sometime.

xo, aiyanajane

2 thoughts on “Chambray Shirt(Dress)

I'd love your thoughts...

