FLORAL SKIRT: 2 WAYS

skirt + tank – LE CHATEAU, accessories – ARDENE , shoes – ALDO

Floral is such a summer staple print, (despite the fact this has been the least summery-summer ever here in Calgary!) so today I’m collaborating with the lovely Anngelik of VOGUE&HEELS to show you how we styled our floral skirts.  Be sure to check out her post HERE for her outfit details and tips on styling floral prints with a pop of color.

The most important factor I consider when shopping for skirts is its shape.  I am particularly fond of fit-and-flare styles.  The tailoring on this skirt is amazing giving it beautiful drape and movement; anything that is fitted at the natural waist, and flared over the hips will instantly slim any body shape.  An a-line skirt with a tank tucked in is absolutely my go to outfit, I have a wedding to attend this weekend and I think I may stick with that formula!  This works especially well if you have a difficult to fit body shape; buying separates instead of a dress will give you the perfect fit (top and bottom) and you will get so much more wear out of two separate pieces than one dress.

Anngelik’s pencil skirt is a structured shape, but the print is much softer and a bit abstract.  Little details like this go a long way in choosing an item… a harsh print on the pencil skirt might be overwhelming, but with the watercolor print it looks soft and beautiful.  In contrast, the graphic black and white floral print on my skirt is softened by the light-weight fabric and pleated details.

August is the biggest time for sales as stores clear out their summer inventory to make room for heavy fall inventories, so try to scoop up some floral print pieces now while they’re on sale.  Below are some lust-worthy choices… I’m dying over the McQueen – always making my heart go all aflutter with their on point tailoring and beautiful colors.

Floral Skirts
Which skirt is your favourite? Let me know in the comments!
xo, aiyanajane
3 thoughts on “FLORAL SKIRT: 2 WAYS

  1. Your skirt is so pretty and simple- I love the fit and flare style as well. I also love the long skirt with the pretty assortment of rainbow colors. I think it would be perfect to pair it with a simple tee.
    Cheers!
    Akshara
    Simply Akshara

I'd love your thoughts...

